2016 USENIX Vail Computer Elements Workshop



The USENIX Vail Computer Elements Workshop is a unique four day workshop that has been around for 46 years serving leading architects of the computer industry. This intentionally small workshop is intended to allow a lively interaction between the participants and the speakers. The agenda is 100% invited technical talks and the audience is mostly previous speakers. Past keynotes have been Seymour Cray, Gordon Moore, Burton Smith, and Ivan Sutherland.

This year marks the 46 year of the workshop. The workshop will be held June 19 - 22, 2016 at the Christiania at Vail.


John Kelsey


This year's Keynote will be Cryptography in the New World Order by John Kelsey Computer Scientist, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Computer Security Division


Given the recent events in the world of information security, the requirements and methods of creating consensus on cryptographic algorithms and protocols has shifted. This will cause deep changes in infrastructure potentially down to the instructions in the processors. This talk will discuss one person’s opinions on how the future may play out.


John's main interests center around using cryptography and computer security to solve real-world problems. John has been working in cryptography for about 20 years doing research and writing papers, writing standards, written and reviewed code. He's designed algorithms and protocols, some of which were broken, others which have survived so far. Since joining NIST in 2003 he has had the opportunity to work on some really fascinating projects, including secure random number generation, electronic voting, and selecting a new standard hash function.


Preliminary List of Talks

ARM's GPU architecture Jem Davis ARM
Intel's KNL Avinash Sodani Intel<
RISC-V: Instruction sets want to be free Krste Asanovic UC Berkeley
Low Voltage SRAM
David Burnett Global Foundries
Accelerating Hyper Cloud Data Center Solutions with Breakthrough Integration Technologies
Sanjay Charagulla Global Foundries
Microsoft Haven
Andrew Baumann Microsoft
"Moving Targets"
Sandy Clark U Penn
Failure Provenance Analysis: From Crashdump to Shellcode
Parker Thompson Leviathan
Barrelfish: an operating system for modern hardware
Timothy Roscoe ETH
SeaOS: A simple OS for multcore Machines
Daniel Bittman UCSC
Krisztian Flautner ARM
Bringing Deep Learning to the Mass Market
Samer Hijazi Cadence
Automotive Lidar technologies
Harvey Weinberg Analog Devices
Arrow Semi-Autonomous Motorcar (SAM): Putting a quadriplegic racecar driver back in the driver’s seat with NXP technology
Joe Thompson NXP
An Overview of Automotive Radar
Maik Brett NXP
Normally-Off Computing
Hiroshi Nakamura University of Tokyo
LIDAR for ADAS and autonomous vehicles
Ken Tanabe Toshiba
Microcontroller for Small Sensing Nodes
Masami Nakajima Renesas

Program Committee

Chair: David Flynn, ARM
Co-Chair: Steve Miller, Intel

Jay Fleischman, AMD
Richard Grisenthwaite, ARM
Yahya Sotoudeh, Intel
Foltin Martin, HP
Jon Callas
Scott Moore, Harvard
David Cunningham, Google
Jim Pinkerton, Microsoft
Pete Wilson, NXP
Bill Huffman, Cadence (Tensilica)
Michael Allen, Analog Devices
Brian Kahne, NXP
Atsushi Hasegawa, Renesas
Yoshio Masubuchi, Toshiba



The workshop is "all inclusive". The workshop fee covers the event, housing and all food from dinner Sunday through lunch Wednesday.

Fees will be:
  Early Late
after June 5
Usenix Members $950 $1,050
Non-members $1,050 $1,150



Registration fees include the workshop, lodging and meals. The prices increase by $100 on June 5st.

Purchase your ticket now.


The workshop has been held since 1974 and some of the past workshops are available online.

The executive committee can be found here.